Minor in Possession (MIP) Licensing Consequences
Give Us A Call: 206-467-3190
We have helped many people who are in a similar situation to you fight their charges.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Washington State MIP charge is a Gross Misdemeanor
A Washington State MIP/MIC charge is a gross misdemeanor criminal offense punishable by up to a maximum of 364 days in jail and a $5,000.00 fine.
Most people convicted of MIP/MIC do not receive the maximum penalties.In fact, most people convicted of MIP/MIC do not serve any jail time at all but may be required to pay fines, costs, and receive other burdensome conditions of probation. However, only an experienced attorney can accurately advise you of what you might be facing on your MIP/MIC case. Let's review your options - Schedule a free consultation.
In addition to jail time and fines, MIP/MIC cases can cause a license suspension. A person who is under the age of 18 at the time of their arrest and who is convicted of MIP/MIC or who enters into a diversion on an MIP/MIC charge will lose their driver's license. For these people, there is a 1 year loss of license for the first arrest that leads to a conviction or a diversion.
The punishment goes up to two years for a second conviction or diversion. It is important to understand that there are resolutions to MIP/ MIC charges that the Department of Licensing will consider "convictions" and base license suspensions on, even though the court and prosecutor may not.
The minor in possession / in consumption cases are governed by Washington State statute, RCW 66.44.270. This statute reads as follows: Furnishing liquor to minors - Possession / Consumption, use - Penalties - Exhibition of effects - Exceptions.